Morning Pages – Dear The Next President of the United States,

The Honorable President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue
Washington, D.C.

March 24, 2016

Dear Next President,

Wow, what do I want the next president of the United States to consider about education? Well, maybe I should start off with a little bit about myself; I am 20 years old and the better half of my life so far in classrooms I plan to do the same thing for the rest of my life. I love education; I love learning, I love the idea of the environment of the “classroom” but honestly, I feel like there have been a few things we have lost sight of in education. I want education to be less about scores and power and more about knowledge and community. The school is where students learn what it is like to be a member of society so if we can teach how to be decent, caring human beings, they will shape our world into a better place. You can do this by implementing nation wide laws against anti-bullying and enforcing schools to do their part to make sure every student feels valuable no matter what their ethnicity, gender, sexuality, religion, or background is. Also, if students are taught that education is important because knowledge is important not just scores or getting a job, students may be able to understand that their place in school is to solely learn, and when the time comes, they will be able to use that knowledge for something else. So, Mr. President (I say Mr. because I’m praying Hil-Dog isn’t the next pres), all you have to do is find a way to teach kids that doesn’t result in standardized tests.

Praying for you man,

Anna

Leave a Reply

