Who Was Your Teacher as Ally Interview

I was assigned to interview three people about who their teacher ally is and I interviewed a couple people that mean a lot to me. I asked Cindy, my incredible #CO301D teacher; Molly, my wonderful little who means the world to me; and Megan, my best friend and roommate. They generally had similar answers about who a teacher as an ally is to them but the teacher that each of them chose, really reflect who they are as people. Cindy’s teacher was an English teacher who allowed her to write something that wasn’t just an essay or prompt response and now she is a WRITER! Molly is so smart and so perfect and chemistry is her life because she wants to go into the medical field and this teacher really developed her love for it. Megan is so into fashion and her professor is actually the coolest guy in the entire world and after knowing him on a semi-personal level previously, I can see how he has influenced her personality and given her an even bigger love for her passion.

Here are the interviews:

Cindy:

Did you have a teacher that made a positive significant impact in your life?

Yes.

Tell me about them.

Kelley Ford, senior english teacher, progressive, first place she got write something that wasn’t an essay or response, connected with him, Oklahoma Writing project, recommended her- wanted her in it, led to her masters and being a professor, personal friend went to her wedding, first time taught a methods class died that day she received a lot of box of books

-see him every day in class, then start stopping by more, kept in contact after graduation, husband connected

– called him “Ford”

Is there anything particular moment that really hit you with them?

-suttle,

-wrote a memoir about aunt who died, difficult, all that was on was “beautiful” at the top – who writes “beautiful as feedback”

Would you consider them to be an ally?

-if someone is in your ally

-seeing the way he interacted with classmates, benefiting personally from it, was an ally to every single student not just the cool students or

Physical Cues:

Would smile, slumped down when she talked about his death

 

Molly Perdue:

Did you have a teacher that made a positive significant impact in your life?

-Yes, Mrs. Baldassarri

Tell me about her.

-Chem teacher for honors chem in high school

-gossipy, if you weren’t in her inner circle, she didn’t like you

-Were you in her inner circle then?

-Yes

-An awful teacher but there is just something about that class but she was just so funny and every time I went in that classroom, it brightened my day.

Is there anything particular moment that really hit you with them?

-We did this one lab, the lights were turned off and we had a Bunsen Burner, we just took chemicals and sprayed them into the flame and my best friend and I asked her to take a picture of us and she did.

What does being a teacher as an ally mean to you?

-Having someone who I can have an open discussion about anything but also just about grades (how I am doing in general in class), about other classes, and just advice in general. They actually want to help you.

Would you consider them to be an ally?

Yeah, even now almost 4 years later, I could email or text her about anything I needed to. I would feel comfortable enough to talk to her about personal stuff if I needed to.

Physical Cues:

Laughed a lot

Megan Haag

Did you have a teacher that made a positive significant impact in your life?

-Prof. Kevin Kissell

Tell me about him.

-He is very personable and he gets to know his students on a different level than just being a professor.

-He has had a lot of experience in the field I want to go into. Very valuable info he passes onto us.

Is there anything particular moment that really hit you with them?

-When it was fashion show week and even though I was doing a crappy job on a part of a garment and he told me to keep pushing through and he was available to help every step of the way, he made me know I wasn’t alone.

What does being a teacher as an ally mean to you?

-Having someone who will understand where you are coming from and give you guidance that a typical friend wouldn’t give you

Would you consider them to be an ally?

-Absolutely

Physical Ques:

None

Leave a Reply

